1, Mail Saint Thomas, Amboise, France
Telephone : +33 (0)2 47 23 21 82
Email : email@example.com
The Mail in our address perpetuates the memory of a priory which was founded in 1107 by Hugh 1st, the Lord of Amboise, but he gave it shortly afterwards to the Abbey of Pont-Levoy. It comprised an estate which had one house (known as No. 1) which paid rent of 5 sols, 6 deniers each year on Saint Stephens day, 26 December. (Note 1).
This belonged, at the beginning of the 18th century, to Jean Rouer, an official in the Kings Household, and a member of an old family of Amboise which had already provided several mayors of Amboise, amongst them Jean Rouer (1658 1661) and later, in 1669, Alexandre Rouer, the Lord of the Chateau Gaillard.